Innovating Through Artistry

Some REAL help for Small Businesses

In ENTREPRENEUR THE ARTS on June 1, 2009 at 7:03 am

 I have been at the new aspect of  my business for over 5 years and had a client recently who ran the SBDA here in Portland Oregon.  She suggested I come and visit the orientation and see if they could help me with my organizational needs, system set ups (bookeeping, keeping track of clients, and future clients and past clients and phone numbers and emails) – all of which I’d been okay at but not really well versed at.  I realized I could do better not to waste  time with old systems.

Well, I sure learned a lot more than I imagined.  And they had a lot more to offer than I thought they would.  And although I’m not there yet.  I am super aware of what it is I need to do to be more successful.  The artist side of my brain didn’t fully examine all my specific business needs. 

And so I pass on to you this bit of a find I feel I have stumbled across.  Go visit the Small Business Development Center in your area.  It’s affordable and has a lot of good programs. http://www.asbdc-us.org/

AN EXCERPT FROM THEIR SITE
 
Hosted by leading universities, colleges and state economic development agencies, and funded in part through a partnership with the U.S. Small Business Administration, approximately 1,000 service centers are available to provide no-cost consulting and low-cost training.

The mission of the Association of Small Business Development Centers is to represent the collective interest of our members by promoting, informing, supporting and continuously improving the SBDC network, which delivers nationwide educational assistance to strengthen small/medium business management, thereby contributing to the growth of local, state and national economies.

Leave a comment